Physician Licensure

Fingerprinting

Physician licensure applicants are required to submit their fingerprints for state and national criminal history background checks.  Fingerprinting services are provided by MorphoTrust USA for a fee of $41.45, payable directly to MorphoTurst USA.  Results of the fingerprinting will be sent directly to TMB both from the Texas Department of Public Safety Criminal Records and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Live Scan Fingerprinting – Only Available in Texas

If you are in Texas, or reside out of state but can schedule a time to be in Texas, you may make an appointment for a live scan (a process that captures fingerprints without the use of ink), at locations throughout the state of Texas.

  1. Download and complete the FAST Fingerprint Pass.  In the field “MB - _____”, please add your 6 digit ID#*
  2. Set up an appointment to have your fingerprints taken by visiting http://www.identogo.com, selecting Texas and then Online Scheduling.  You will be asked for your Board issued 6 digit ID number (see *, below).  Payment of the $41.45 fee can be made by credit card at the time of scheduling the online appointment or onsite with a check or money order only.  Note:  A full set of instructions for setting up your appointment is listed on the FAST Fingerprint Pass form.
  3. IMPORTANT:  You must present your FAST Fingerprint Pass AND your Board issued 6 digit ID number* when arriving onsite (as well as the $41.45 payment, if you have not already paid online).

Hard-Copy Fingerprinting – For Use Outside of Texas

If you reside outside of Texas and cannot schedule an appointment in Texas for a Live Scan, you must be fingerprinted in ink on a card (only cards provided by the Texas Medical Board are acceptable) at a local law enforcement agency, and must then submit the card directly to MorphoTrust USA to be digitally scanned and processed.

  1. Request a fingerprint card by contacting the Texas Medical Board Pre-Licensure, Registration, and Consumer Services (PRC) Department at (512) 305-7030 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Central Time. 
  2. Complete the Fingerprint Scan Authorization Form.  At the top of the form, write in your 6 digit ID#*, using the format:  MB - 123456  
  3. Take the fingerprint card to a local law enforcement agency to have them take your fingerprints.  ONLY CARDS PROVIDED BY THE TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD ARE ACCEPTABLE.
  4. Mail the completed fingerprint card, the completed Fingerprint Scan Authorization Form and a check or money order payable to MorphoTrust USA for $41.45 to:

MorphoTrust USA
Texas Cardscan Processing
1650 Wabash Avenue, Suite D
Springfield, IL 62704

* What is a Board issued 6-digit ID#?
This number, assigned to you at the time you submitted your application for licensure, can be found online through LIST (Licensure Inquiry System of Texas) or through contacting the Texas Medical Board Pre-Licensure, Registration, and Consumer Services (PRC) Department at (512) 305-7030 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Central Time.