Provisional License

The Texas Medical Board may grant a physician applicant a limited provisional license to practice medicine in an area designated by the federal government as a health professional shortage area (HPSA) or by the federal or state government as a medically underserved area (MUA) if certain criteria are met.  The provisional license is valid for a maximum of 270 days, by law, and cannot be extended.  To qualify, an applicant:

You must file your physician licensure application online and provide the supplemental documentation listed below for TMB to review and determine whether you qualify for a provisional license. The fee for the license is $107.

Provisional License Application and Sponsorship Form (Form G, PDF)

Supplemental Documentation Checklist:

To find out if your intended practice area qualifies as a MUA or HPSA, email the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) a request to research the address at TexasPCO@dshs.state.tx.us.  If your practice area qualifies, DSHS will email verification to you and TMB. 

When confirmation of all the requirements listed above is received and evaluated by TMB, your provisional license will be issued. 

REMINDER – Your provisional license will be valid for a maximum of 270 days.  Do not delay work on your physician licensure application while you practice under your provisional license; if you do not complete the physician licensure application before the provisional license expires, you will have to stop practicing until the physician licensure application is complete.